Поверните гаджет в горизонтальное положение

Akmola region

Akmola region is an agricultural and industrial region. The enclave, surrounded by the territory of the region, is the capital of Kazakhstan Astana, which is not administratively included in the region. The administrative center since 1999 is the city of Kokshetau. It borders on the west with Kostanay, in the north - with North Kazakhstan, in the east - with Pavlodar and in the south - with Karaganda regions. Akmola region occupies the western outskirts of the Kazakh folded country between the Ulytau mountains in the south-west and the Kokshetau heights in the north. The general slope of the terrain is from east to west. In the same direction the middle part of the Akmola region crosses the valley of the Ishim River, turning steeply to the north not far from the western border of the region.

Select a place from the list:

Korgalzhyn State Nature Reserve

Akmola region

Korgalzhyn State Nature Reserve is located 130 km southwest of the capital of Kazakhstan - the city of Astana. The purpose of the activity of this reserve is the preservation of the natural complex, its study and propaganda of the ideas of nature protection. The reserve is located in the Tengiz-Korgalzhyn hollow and covers an area of 259.9 thousand hectares, of which 198 thousand are water areas. In general, the protected zone is the two large lakes Tengiz and Korgalzhyn, which are the remains of an ancient sea that once filled the entire hollow. Together with other smaller ponds, they form a unique, water-marsh complex rich in fish and poultry. A total of 32 species of birds are found in the Korgalzhyn Reserve, which are listed on the pages of the Red Book. The fauna of the reserve includes about 40 species. Here you can observe the mighty wild boars, swift-footed saigas, and badgers.

The unique natural complex of the Korgalzhyn Reserve is included in the list of specially protected areas of the planet, it is included in the group 'A' of the Ramsar Convention, and it is also planned to assign this territory to the UNESCO List.